Highs and Lows

Hello all and a HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Yes, it is the first day of the year 2013 and I have returned after my short, but well-deserved leave of blogging absence. I apologise for failing to notify you all about my December break, but I always feel so narcissistic to announce to the world that I am having a blogging break. Of course, it is also a great way to alienate readers by disappearing without notice. Sorry! After my recent “oh woah is me” state-of-affairs post, I hope none of you were worried that I was gone for good. Actually I do hope you were worried. Why weren’t you worried? Anyway, I can assure you everything is wonderful and I am energised and ready for a new blogging year.

Wooohooo! Yeah! Alright!

Alright, enough of that before this turns into a Tony Robbins video.

So what the happs? What has been going on while I was gone? Well, remember I was unemployed after I got fired from that awful job? Well that awful job wanted me back, but I decided to stick it to them. Instead, I got another job for two weeks to make a bit of cash for the Xmas period. I’ve since got a new contract secured starting on 7 January so everything is sweet in the job department.

In the meantime, I intended on writing a short, festive, Xmas // NYE themed post before the 2012 year was out, however I got a bit side tracked with making “important decisions” about my other blog and I ended up doing nothing. Watching an entirely awful season of Dexter in one week helped to prevent me from doing anything productive.

I was also very busy indulging in some last minute gluttony as a final F-U to the world, in case the Mayans had turned out to be correct. Of course, we are all still here and yet I got to eat a disgustingly delicious amount of food. Drew 1 – Mayans – 0.

And now I am in Berlin with JD, after celebrating New Years Eve in style [and in all kinds of crazy] and spending my New Years Day writing for you, my beloved and loyal blogging audience. Golly gosh, I must be committed! I intend to write all about this, however we are in Berlin for a couple of more days and then we are heading to Prague, so I will fill you all in upon my return home to London. Isn’t that strange? I now think of London as home.

Given my penchant for bitching, many of you who read this blog probably thought I had a pretty terrible year. In reality, I have very little to complain about. I certainly had a better year than the Mayans. Moving to London has been the best experience of my life and I am thankful with each day that I get to spend here. Except when it is cold and windy and raining. Given this started out as a travel blog and I have basically failed to report on any of my travels, I thought it would be good to start the year on a positive note by looking back on all of my highlights over the year that was 2012. Of course, I’ve also thrown in a few low lights to balance the mood, as it just wouldn’t be the same if I didn’t bitch about something.

I hope everyone else had a fantastic 2012 and please feel free to humble-brag all about it in the comments section below. And for those who had a real stinker, may 2013 be all yours.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

The Highs and Lows of 2012

10 thoughts on “Highs and Lows

  1. This is such a fun idea – a visual chart of highs and lows.

    My brother said mice are like little bears, they are just looking for a warm place to sleep. Eeek – didn’t make me feel better.

    Jenna

  2. Good god, is that your real picture (for the scooter crash in Ibiza)? Your arm/elbow looks like a potato! I loved Ibiza but maybe it was a good thing that I didn’t get a chance to rent a scooter…

  3. I love this. I love this format. I love this entry. I love that you had an awesome year and saw Macy Gray drunk (although who hasn’t?).

    That was unfair. I really don’t know anything about Macy.

    Anyway, I think I am most thrilled because I have “known” you for over a year now and never had any idea of what you looked like. I now know you have a fucked up elbow and facial hair on your chin. I am almost as excited as I am creepy.

Please leave a comment. I have a fragile ego.

